Biographies of the Playwrights:

70th Anniversary Showcase

Friday, May 4, 2018, 7:30 p.m.


Dea is well known in the San Diego arts community – a former Commissioner of Arts for the City of San Diego, supporter of theaters large and small – and now a playwright.  I Want To Marry Stevie Wonder was a winner in the 2017 Script Tease of Short Plays Competition, and Dea is looking forward to expanding it into a full-length.


Jeanne Becijos (THE LAST FIGHT) 

Jeanne's musical Cyrano and Roxana was produced in Chula Vista, and her one-acts have been produced in San Diego, Los Angeles, New York City and New York State. Her comedy  Heartquakes was presented in the 2014 San Diego International Fringe Festival.

Michael Conley (SPEED DATING) 
Michael has had full-lengths and one-acts produced and workshopped in San Diego, New York and Philadelphia.  His most recent play is The Doppler Effect, a long one act fantasia-drama about the impact of social media on the lives of three people.


Sandra de Helen (A NEW DADDY)

Sandra’s dramas and comedies have been performed all over the United States (New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Portland) as well as in England, Ireland, Canada and the Phillipines.  She is a member of Scripteasers, International Centre for Women Playwrights and The Dramatists Guild.

Kathleen McLaughlin (BOX OF WORRIES)

Kathleen, a native San Diegan, has had an interest in the theater since early childhood, and her one act plays have been produced locally and around the country.


James Reynolds (CLOSING TIME) 

After serving as an Army Lieutenant in Vietnam, Jim made his living as a Registered Architect. Jim has acted in or designed sets for over thirty community theater plays. He's had productions of his plays in California, Washington, Minnesota, Missouri, Texas, Ohio and New York.


Janet S. Tiger (LET ME FINISH!)

Janet’s work has been performed internationally and published in anthologies in the U.S., Canada and the U.K.  She was the recipient of a 2016-17 San Diego Foundation Creative Catalyst Fellowship, an NEA-COMBO Fellowship and numerous awards.  Beginning in 1980, her plays have been read at Scripteasers.